Home » About Me » Non Fictional Feelings about Fictional Characters

Non Fictional Feelings about Fictional Characters

Valentine’s Day has come and gone. Chocolate is half price, and many of us are thinking about love in one form or another. And, it made me think about something I’ve seen circling the internet. fictional

 

Have you ever had an emotional attachment to a fictional character? While we all know that “the real thing” requires a real person, emotional attachments to fictional characters are pretty non-fictional. Whether it’s one of ours or one from our favorite story, I think most of us have fallen in love with a fictional character.

 

My own crush is a common enough one. I saw Les Miserables on stage when I was thirteen years old, and read Victor Hugo’s sweeping novel shortly afterwards.  Since then I’ve had a very deep emotional attachment to the character of Enjolras. It’s funny, my view of him has changed over the years, from a teenage girl seeing him as heroic and noble, to an adult woman seeing him as idealistic and naïve, but with a touching innocence and purity to his absence of cynicism and faith that his revolution would bring about change.  But, while my view has changed, my feelings haven’t.

 

How many fictional character crushes have you had? Do you think that it is normal and healthy, or is it strange? Do you think that fictional character crushes are devices used to market mediocre fiction to young readers, or does it take talent and skill write a character that a reader can fall in love with?

 

What characters do you love?

 

I’d love to hear about it.

6 thoughts on “Non Fictional Feelings about Fictional Characters

  1. I think I am, and please excuse my use of the word, a very slutty reader. In many books I read, I ‘Fall in love’ with one of the characters or another for the duration of the book, but I don’t think I have ever felt that kind of feeling for any significant amount of time after reading. I’ve felt admiration for plenty of characters, and still do, but my fictional crushes never stick around. I think it’s probably quite normal, in a sense.

    For an author to create a character a reader can ‘fall in love with’ for any period beyond the book is neither talent nor skill, nor not these things. It takes talent and skill to write a good character, no matter the intention, and I think the sort of romantic love we are talking about would require a fairly good character. I, however, think trying to write a character specifically for the reader to fall for is doomed to fail – Like love in reality, it just happens when you, err, meet the right character. Everyone is different, and trying to blanket it ends with a poor character. But then, take a look at popularity of novels like Twilight – throws a bit of a spanner in my theory, doesn’t it?

    One could make some comment on what counts as ‘real fictional love,’ but that is delving deep into philosophy and is probably slightly beyond scope here and now.

    To answer your question, I think the most memorable fictional crush I have was Natasha, from The Angel of the Revolution by George Griffith. It might not count, however, as Natasha’s description and personality appeared, to me when I read it, very similar to that immortal ‘first crush’, so while reading the two people – fiction and non-fiction – combined, and I think that really influenced my take on the character and the whole book.

    Reading that back, it seems to come off a little more creepy than i’d like, but I hope everyone knows my meaning.

    • No, not creepy at all.

      I chuckle when I read this, because an older and slightly longer draft of this article did bring up Edward Cullen and Jacob Black when discussing using crushes to market mediocre fiction. But, I decided not to because I didn’t want to bash another writer on my blog. Oh no! I just did. Opps. Oh well.

      Thank you so much for your long, thoughtful comment. I really appreciate it. I think we agree on a lot of points.

  2. I might also have fictional crush on Enjolras. I finished the book Les Miserables just last week actually, but I had known the story and music of Les Miserables since I was eleven and my choir introduced it to us. I also grew very attached to Courfeyrac and his actor Fra Fee in the movie did nothing to help that.
    I think that as someone who grew up reading more than I ever did anything else that this is normal.

Leave a Reply

