Home » About Me » The Girl with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on Her Kindle

The Girl with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on Her Kindle

I am in the midst of a passionate love affair with my new Kindle. I’m not the only one in love with a Kindle, I’m sure of that. Before any of you think that I’m on the payroll of Amazon, I’m not. I’m just the kind of person who likes to read more than one book at once, and having many books on one device gives me a lot of joy.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is what I’m reading right now. It’s not my standard fare, but I’m enjoying it greatly. I’m only five chapters in, but I can’t stop. The characters, the plotting, and the intrigue are thrilling. One small problem I have with it, though, is the large amount of exposition. Speeches almost a full page in length, where a character is simply relaying information to another character, and the reader, seem surprisingly prevalent.  Maybe some interjections from the listening party to break up the monologue and bring it back to a dialogue would have helped.

This is not a book review of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Nor is this a criticism of Steig Larsson’s wonderful book that has me completely hooked. But, I believe quite strongly that being a writer has colored the way I read. I find myself thinking about what I would have done differently. I find myself wishing that I’d have thought of such a great character or story idea. I find myself disappointed that a story hasn’t gone the way I hoped it would, and I find myself giddy with joy at an unexpected turn that catches me by surprise.

Trying to see these emotions as writing lessons in my own writing is something that I continually strive for. Of course, I’m not talking about re-using ideas, or taking a character like Lisbeth Salander and re-creating her under a new name and face. I’m talking about searching myself as a reader and striving to understand the “why” behind my reaction (positive or negative) and to take that information and use it as a writer.

I believe that it is an important skill, and it’s one I work continually work to develop.

There is a pitfall to this, however. That would be, comparing myself to other writers. It’s a habit that I have. I think my natural inclination, when I read something I think is really wonderful, is to think that my work is not or never will be as good.

I’m not sure I’ve found a good way to avoid these thoughts entirely. But, once I do have them, I find it comforting to remember that everyone is their own worst critic. It’s a horrible cliché, but sometimes things become clichés because they are the truth.

Now, back to reading…

11 thoughts on “The Girl with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on Her Kindle

  1. I also love to read several books at once, so I totally understand! And it makes perfect sense that a fellow writer would have a deeper appreciation when reading someone else’s work, you know what goes into! Whereas I just think….How do they come UP with this stuff?!?!

  2. And maybe it has something to do with age. When watching a television show or movie, more and more often I find myself saying things like “This scriptwriter ought to be taken out and shot!” Unless of course there’s more than one miscreant responsible for whatever embarrassing conspiracy is transpiring on the screen – in which case I revise that to “scriptwriters!” So yes, I do find myself editing other people’s work at times. But most often only if said phraseology grates on my nerves enough to jar me out of the story and into edit mode.

    Since most other writers are both younger and smarter than me, seeing they’ve done less than their best tends to piss me off. I’ve neither the time nor energy left before Alzheimer’s to put up with what is obviously lazy exposition. A lot of this bad scripting probably results from those ever looming deadlines. Still, to someone much more dependent on persistence than any pretense of genius for every paragraph, I’m disappointed to see people with what I perceive to be buckets of talent sloshing drivel everywhere.

    Editing is a natural mode for writers, As long as you’re at least as hard on yourself when it comes to editing, I don’t see a problem dissecting other people’s work – especially if such forensics are motivated by a need to understand why something isn’t working. Besides, if you’re constantly being sucked out of whatever you’re reading by questionable scripting, that’s not your fault. Most likely even the non-writers reading the same piece are sensing a problem. They’re just not self-habituated to searching for the flaws disrupting the flow.

    You’ve also noticed the opposite. You’ve also found yourself analyzing those perfectly tuned paragraphs and wondering how this or that writer managed to pull it off – and with such apparent ease. Flawless writing coming so easy – now that’s another thing that tends to piss me off. I guess it has something to do with age.

    • Maybe it does, maybe it doesn’t. I like to think that appreciating the good and being annoyed by the bad or the lazy can be at any age! 🙂

      On a smiler note, you know what I always hate? When it becomes painfully obvious that the book/script is just a vehicle for one particular idea or premise, and everything else in the movie is secondary, and just an excuse to have that one thing there.

      One movie that did it well enough so that the movie didn’t suffer for it, but still works as an example to explain my point was “Jurassic Park.” Still an enjoyable movie, but they just wanted to get those people in that zoo with those dinosaurs when the park failed. How the park failed or how the dinosaurs were created was secondary and irrelevant.

      “Jurassic Park” made it work, but it’s a rare exception. Most movies that have “big idea” then come up with excuses to make the big idea happen just turn out lazy.

  3. Good post, I have read all 3 books in the serie, and loved them all very much.
    The only thing I am unhappy with is the translation of the title, because the original Swedish title fits the story so much better, so in my opinion, they should have translated the title into Men who hates women, like Stig Larson call the book.

    • I have heard that, it’s certainly an interesting and provocative title.

      On one hand, I believe in staying true to the original as much as possible when translating. On the other hand, I wonder how sucessfully they would have been able to market a book entitled “Men who Hate Women” in the US.

      You know what I mean? It’s an interesting dilemma.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment!

Leave a Reply

